Forgive, But Don’t Forget.

February 22, 2011

For the love we’ve thrown away, for the memories we hope will never stray, for every moment lived has a story that deserves the light of day.

I remember the wilds of Africa, the jungles of Malaysia, and the maids of Manila.

I remember crying for my Mother like some first grader at the school gates.

I remember myself as a child without boundaries. Nurtured by a family brimming with prosperity.

I remember the helplessness of her stare after too many panadol, spreadeagled on the bathroom floor, life spilling from her every pore.

I remember leaving the wintery south, fearful of what the northern shores would harbour, but instead of dismay I found laughter.

I remember slicing through shimmering rifts of snow, Harry in tow. Carving to and fro, we were kids, and now even that was so long ago.

I remember falling in love with her simplicity. Calm in her embrace, I looked out at city towers and vast expanses of scenery. Before I knew it, she decieved me, and we were but a distant intimacy.

I remember gazing into the stars, High School fading behind me. Exploring the hills of Woodford, I drifted far from reality and with the coming of a New Year I soon lost sight of my sanity.

I remember smoking my rationality to extinction. A teenager confused from the situations that he could not escape from. In limbo, I stepped off the edge, noose tied tight around my neck.

I remember the bleached halls, the nights I lay there trapped in silence. Miserable with no place to hide, I dodged a bullet, and found that the grass was greener on this side.

I remember being chosen for who I was, and for once, I did have my moment triumph. Full of pride, limelighted under the bright lights, it was the passion that made me feel alive.

I remember remembering everything that has made me, me.

All the places that we’ve got to see, all those faces that we’ve got to meet, all the things that have made you and me, have led us here and we made it, we made it on our own.

“Another moment time kidnapped without consent.”